In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

To curtail the problem of traffic congestion, authorities ought to impose tax at increased rate on persons having their own cars, and these extra funds could be utilized to upgrade the public transportation facilities. This can be advantageous and people would buy less cars, but it has drawbacks too.

One of the major benefit is that it will encourage people to use the bus and train services, and they would spend less on purchasing their own cars. By doing this, some extra money could be saved which can be used by people for other activities. Another point in the favour could be less air and noise pollution because number of vehicles will be decreased on the roads, so less emission of harmful gases would take place. To exemplify this, Delhi has adopted a method of driving odd-even number plate cars on the alternative days which has controlled the problem of traffic jams and air pollution to a considerable extent.

On the other hand, more taxes would be collected at initial stage of implementation of such kind of policy afterwards it may start decreasing and at later stage less funds would be available for the improvement of public conveyance facilities. this would interfere in the proper maintainance of these facilities and the standards of these services might go down. Moreover, buses and railways could become overcrowded with the public as more and more people would start using these services.

In conclusion, it might be an effective move to impose heavy taxes on private car owners with motives of curbing the issue of increasing traffic and motivating people to use public buses, metro and trains, but this could cause the problem of overcrowding and fund-raising at later stage.