Organised tours are choosing more and more to go to remote places and communities. Do you think it is a positive or negative development to the local communities and environment?

Tourism industry is flourishing by leaps and bounds and many tour operators are now organising the trips at the unexplored areas to enjoy the nature. While I believe that this trend has benefitted the local communities, it has certainly caused a damaging impact on the environment.

To begin with, with the increasing popularity of tourism, more and more people are allured towards exploring the remote villages or the faraway places in the outskirts of the cities. Hence the guided tours holds such trips where tourists can enjoy the nature to the fullest. This development has clear advantages on the local communities. Firstly, this approach gives rise to many small scale industries aiding in their earning for livelihood. In other words, local vendors get their source of incomes through the tourists in an otherwise struggling life. Secondly, many people would get the jobs in the tourism related industries in the local area, for instance, in the hotel business, eventually boosting the local economy. Furthermore, cultural exchange is the key aspect of the guided expeditions in such remote villages where many minor and unrecognised communities are existing.

On the other hand, the environmental impacts of the organised tours at the countryside or remote areas can only be seen as negative. Tourists exploit the natural resources. Additionally, people have to cut down trees in order to set up the market or accommodation facilities for the visitors, which leads to the deforestation. Visitors are also responsible for increased litter and garbage which fills up the lands.

To conclude, I believe that tourism to the remote places has far more merits to the local people and communities, despite of certain drawbacks. If the tour operators as well as visitors acts responsibly in order to preserve the natural environment of the locality, then it is certainly a positive development.