overpopulation in many major urban centers around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved.

Every day, people are attracted to cities because of the facilities and the opportunities available in them. Some take permanent residence and others come and go daily. Overpopulation is a major problem that mega-cities and cities currently facing. In order to provide solutions, first we need to find the causes of these issue.

The most important reason for overpopulation is the facilities available in these urban centers. There are better services like education, health, transportation and security available in these cities compares to rural/remote areas. Hence people are attracted to the cities. Secondly, there are more opportunities in the cities than any other places to become success in the life. This can be either occupational or businesswise. Thirdly, it is human nature for people to work and live in groups. No one does not want to live alone even at the stone age. Therefore people are attracted to the urban centers.

There are many solutions for the overpopulation issue in the cities. Firstly, the government should make immediate action to provide and improve infrastructure and facilities in the rural areas. Education, health and transportation are the main fields. Secondly, there should be a mechanism that encourages the major companies to start or move their offices to regional areas. Introducing industrial zones with attractive tax rates and other facilities would be a great option. Thirdly, the government should implement a program to develop the local industries/businesses relevant to particular areas. It can be diary in one area, wood work in another and mining in some other area. Developing and boosting the local industries and business will be able to retain the local people in the local area and stop going to other places looking for more opportunities.

In conclusion, the overpopulation is a major issue in urban centers. There are many reasons for this and in order to overcome it, the government and local authorities need to implement solid mechanism with short-term and long-term plans.