Success is often measured by wealth and material belongings. Do you think wealth the best measure of success? What makes a successful person?

In this commercial world, everything is measured by money and everyone tries to give values to anything on based on money. Success is also measured often in monetary aspects. When someone says about a successful person, a picture of a person with logs of money in bank accounts and lots of material belongings comes to our mind.

Is the wealth is the best measure of success ? Without a doubt, it is the best measure of a successful businessman / businesswoman. No one will say a bankrupt businessman as a successful person. However this cannot be applied for everyone , because their aims, aspects and ambitions are different. An academic scholar's aim is to do the studies well, a teacher's aim is to produce well-behaved, educated citizens to the society and the aim of a priest is to maintain a civilized society. In these examples money or material belongings do not matter at all. Secondly even if a person has enough money but doesn't contribute for the betterment of the society, we cannot say that person is a successful person. Further if that person has earned the wealth illegally, that person also not a successful person.

A successful person is the one who achieve his or her targets, aims, fulfill the dreams without breaking the law or harming to the society. The aims can be tangible or intangible. Some people contribute and work for the society to make it a better place.

To conclude wealth is not the best method to measure the success of a person. The wealth and material belongings are counted for business persons, but the traits like character, attitude, behavior are also used to measure the success of a person.