Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems . identify one or two ones and suggest way that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

It is a well-known fact that over population of urban areas is a burning issue in many countries. Due to overcrowding of cities, people residing there have to face many problems. In this essay, I will discuss about the major problems and the possible solution that both government and individuals can implement.

To begin with, city dwellers are facing various problems due to overpopulation. One of the main problem is the lack of dwelling unit. Many ordinary people in cities are struggling to find a affordable residential house due to lack of space. Another crucial problem is the road traffic congestion in the cities where people have to wait for long hours in traffic to reach a destination that are only few kilometers apart. For example, the minimum time to reach a nearby destination in Old Delhi is 30 minutes which can actually be reached within 10 minutes if there is no traffic congestion.

In terms of solutions, both the government and individuals have to mutually cooperate and implement solutions. Firstly,in order to provide affordable accommodation, government can formulate public - partnership model and build housing colonies in the cities so that common people will get benefited. Individuals can also contribute in providing houses by renting out the unused portion of apartment to the needy at an affordable rate. Moreover, government can introduce more innovative and clean ways of transportation such as metro and electric buses to the public. This will not only reduce traffic congestion but also control air pollution. People can play a vital role in successfully implementing these measures by shifting their usage from private vehicles to public vehicles.

To sum up, urban people are facing many problems due to overpopulation. These issues can be tackled and controlled only if, there is proper coordination between the government and individuals.