These days many people have their own computers and mobile phone so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or disadvantages?

Technology has made our work simpler and more effective. Now days due to the advent of internet and networking people started to work from home. In this essay I will discuss about the advantages and disadvantages of working from home and conclude with my opinion.

To begin with, work from home is a blessing for women employees especially those who are married. To elaborate, women can take care about the house hold matters and in the free time they can work for their companies to earn some income. A survey indicates that 70% of women have joined back their respective organizations when they were given the option to work from home. Moreover, work from home can reduce operational expenses of an organization which in turn can increase the profitability. Furthermore, work from home will be a gift for those employees who can perform better in a comfortable environment instead of office.

On the contrary there are several drawbacks for work from home option. One of them is the lack of professional environment where employees will be more productive. In fact when we sit and work in a comfortable environment with out any restrictions the tendency to get distracted from the work will be higher which can cause negative results to our carrier.In addition to that there will lack of team work when we implement work from home option. For instance, if an employee work in office instead of home he can get tips and solutions from his colleague for a particular problem.

Considering both the benefits and drawbacks, I feel that the disadvantages outweigh its advantages. So it is not viable to implement work from home option on a routine basis. To conclude, there are both advantages and disadvantages for work from home option where negative sides are more projecting than its positive.