It is true that, the problem of pollution and traffic jams is escalating at a rapid pace. So, it is suggested that each family should own a single car to tackle this issue. I agree with the given statement as this contributes greatly by saving time, money and health of people.

Firstly, such an approach helps to reduce traffic congestions. If each house have only one car, then the number of motor vehicles racing on the roads decrease. This prevents the unnecessary wastage of time while one is struck in traffic jams. Moreover, car pooling can help the family to escape from the maintainance charges of an extra vehicle. The Canadian government, for instance, introduced the law of one car for four people. The enforcement of this law reduced the traffic congestions by 60% in one year and thus, this approach can be of great assistance to handle the issue.

Furthermore, owning too many cars cause more pollution. As every individual likes to travel in their personal vehicle, they might drive to work alone in a car which can carry at least three more people. This will lead to surplus emission of smoke by motor vehicles which, otherwise, is preventable. Additionally, pollution possess a potential health hazard as several individuals have trouble in breathing and suffer from other skin allergies because of it. The example is of Nigerian government who by promoting car pooling, was able to decrease the pollution levels by about 30%. This approach also reduced the respiratory problem of the residents significantly. Therefore, such a trend is a tested measure to reduce the levels of pollution.

To conclude, authorities can enact the law of owning one car per family. This can help greatly to deal with such problems easily and wisely.