Majority of people in modern society use drugs, but young people nowadays are testing both legal and illegal substance. It is argued that parents and other members of society serves as bad examples for today’s youth, specifically with the use of legal and illegal drugs. This essay will first discuss the causes and effects of consumption of drugs to the youth and what necessary actions are needed to stop the misuse of drugs.

Peer pressure would be one of the major reasons for drug abuse. Children tend to seek attention and acceptance from their friends, not knowing that these group could actually harm them. For instance, to be considered part of the group, they need to prove something to them first. Forcing them to try and take the substance, subsequently this group could also use them to sell it to others. This will further lead to more deeper problems like crime rates or robbery. Another cause of drug abuse would be familial factors, it may be due to parents are too occupied with work or simply no parental guidance for this young people. Parents or responsible adults plays a big part in looking after the welfare of their kids. But sometimes due to too much work they are not able to do so. In particular, children who are often neglected by their parents have the tendency to be rebellious. And one way of doing that is by taking illegal substances.

Helping the youth to fight drug abuse has been a lifelong journey in the society. Ensuring that they won’t end up with the wrong group of friends is one of the first step for this. In the Philippines for example, majority of those caught for using illegal drugs are underage. Another possible solution would be shorter work time for parents. Less work hours means ample time to bond with their children. Some countries have been practicing this kind of work life balance and it yields positive results on both parents and children. The leader of the country also needs to make some course of action on this matter. If the society sees a great leader, then there’s a great probability the rest of the country will follow. Again in the Philippines, the current president has been very aggressive on handling drug abusers and pushers. Tho it is argued that his choice of punishment is very violent, but if it serves it purpose then he will pursue it.

In summary, misuse of illegal drugs could obviously lead to more serious and dangerous issues. Parents and the society in general have a big impact in developing and protecting the youth. Solutions and recommendations to this problem is attainable and should be taken into action by the leader of the country. Individuals and the government should work hand in hand to ensure the safety of today’s youth.