People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problems. Others, however, think the aging population has many advantages for business, government and for society in general.

Discuss both views & give your own opinion

There is little room for doubt that there has been a staggering growth in the proportion of elderly people in many countries. In my opinion, I believe that this trend brings both advantages and disadvantages to society as a whole.

On one hand, it is inevitable that the remarkable increase in life expectancy has some negative consequences for some reasons. Firstly, the aging population can impose a heavy pressure on the economy and the healthcare system as the more people retire, the heavier the pension burden the state has to carry. Hospitals will be flooded with frail and infirm elderly citizens searching for medical treatments while the labour force also suffers due to the shortage of productive workers who often make the biggest contribution to society. Secondly, more old people would pose a burden to families as parents would have to take care of older family members, and no doubt aged citizens tend to be meddlesome and stubborn, causing frequent conflicts probably.

On the positive side, the benefits of this development should not be underestimated. First, they are able to contribute to some sectors such as teaching, management, scientific research and politics thanks to their extensive experience. We often see top executives in their 50s doing consultation sessions and help companies function more efficiently, or old teachers coaching students for contests because of their vast knowledge and hands-on experience. Second, as most people in modern times are busy with tasks at the workplace, elderly members like grandparents can do the babysitting, relieving parents’ worries of their children lacking in moral support or leisure activities.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, it seems to me that an aging population has both merits and drawbacks on society, largely depending on how we react to it.