People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problems. Others, however, think that the aging population has many advantages for business development, government and for society in general. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Few people opine that increased life expectancy leads to issues. However others might argue that a population with older people might bring benefits to society, government and business. In my opinion, rise in number of older people will have positive consequences.

Rise in elderly population in society implies increased retired population and decreased overall productivity. This means less number of hands earning and more mouths to feed. In addition to skewed earning-to-feeding ratio, government will have to spend more on welfare and health of senior population. Also, a good economy is heavily dependant on spending trends of younger demographic. Considering the above points, there is good possibility that rise in aged population might have adverse effect on socio-economic system.

On the other hand, when we discuss productivity of senior population, we should take into consideration their immense experience and wisdom. Their guidance in matters related to building business and society will have huge positive impact. Elderly population usually have more time at their disposal which they can invest in bringing about social changes. I have seen this myself in our locality. Majority of civil improvement activities are carried out by retirees. Thanks to them our locality is a safer, cleaner and more civilized place to live in.

In conclusion, even though there are many quantitative points to highlight the disadvantages of increased life expectancy, there are many points to counter them as well. Though not all of them ca be put in numbers and graphs. I firmly believe, that an aged population has more to add to our society, economy and governance.