People are sleeping less than in the past. Why do people do it? What are the effects of this?

Today we are in competitive world, where people work round the clock irrespective of day or night, either as a student or an employee. This has several implication on the routine human behavior, as a result sleep gets disturbed to the highest extent. Lack of sleep is a Global issue hence people should be made aware of importance for healthy life and consequence of sleeplessness.

Sleep is considered as one of the best natural medicine ever human had since civilization, which helps to keep up the healthy life, although knowing importance of sleep, people are not having enough sleep in this 21st century because of several reason, few of them are anxiety, depression, excess consumption of caffeine, usage of technological gadgets before going to sleep, monitor staring for hours at office, urbanization, traffic, pollution, unhealthy food diet have paved a way to lack of sleep among the people of this century. As per the recent research, people are sleeping lesser than what they used to sleep a decade ago, it has reduced considerably from 10 hours to 6 hours a day and they found out that this change is because of technological advancement and peer pressure among youths.

The consequence of less sleep is devastating on the health of the individual, few have immediate consequence, other may be in the long run. The most common effect of lack of sleep is obesity and memory loss. however there are several issues like head ache, lack of concentration, cardiac problems, dark circles and so on. Insomnia is very commonly found in today's generation where people face trouble to have a good sleep. Hence we need to adopt healthy life style and regular exercise to over come all this and have a calm sleep.

To conclude, in this generation we have several roles and responsibility to take care of, however maintaining good health should be of utmost priority and this can be achieved from having a good sleep on daily basis. Hence Sleep is considered as a boon to the man kind that leads to a healthy life.