People have different views on higher education. Globalization continues to make the job market to competitive. Some argue that university courses should focus exclusively on practical learning and vocational training rather than a liberal arts education (a broader education).

Do you agree or disagree with this ?

It is said by some people that universities should develop thoroughly courses relating to practical learning and vocational training more than a liberal arts education. it is a problematic idea that I would not subscribe for.

To begin with, it is right when saying that practical learning and vocational training play a paramount role in coaching essential skills for laborers, especially for computer sciences and engineering. these two fields require workers who not only own specialized knowledge but also highly empirical skills. However, these kinds of businesses could take advantages from certain liberal arts education. people often misunderstand or lack of awareness about liberal arts. Firstly, the name “liberal arts” is a misnomer, which means it does not refer to art or political. that kind of education is about a broader education. Secondly, unlike many people think about, liberal arts education not just about theories, it includes critical thinking processes also.

On the other hand, in a world where technology or markets are improving faster and faster, a person who can adapt to changes appropriately may help their company get ahead. Moreover, students who master liberal arts can make them better at deciding business affairs, not just only technical issues. This is the factor which helps their career path thriving and they can achieve promotion more easily.

In conclusion, I disagree with the notion that society should concentrate only one type of higher education. different people have different strong points sets where on philosophy of education might suit them better than the other, we need to provide the widest range of skills to today’s student.