People nowadays are not fit and active than the people from the olden days. Discuss the causes for this situation and suggest some possible solutions.

Ever since the genesis of industrialisation, human beings have gone through many different changes. This is evident from the fact that people are no longer as physically fit and active as they used to be. It is argued that increasing use of technology and removal of many physically demanding jobs are the two cardinal reasons for this. To tackle these problems, educational programs and establishment of health facilities will be analysed for viability.

To begin, many individuals have adopted television and internet browsing as their hobbies, which has led to them adopting sedentary lifestyles. To counter this, educational programs aimed at these people can educate them about the hazards such a lifestyle poses to the health of an individual. For instance, the government of Pakistan has run many infomercials in the past few year to increase the awareness about the importance of exercising among the geriatric population. Which in turn, resulted in lower number of elderly people reporting joint related problems in the coming years. Therefore, the effectiveness of such targeted campaigns can be clearly seen.

In addition, due to industrialisation, the nature of jobs around the world has moved from being physically demanding to service oriented. Consequently, a large chunk of people does not get the necessary physical activity required to have a sound body. For this, establishment of more health facilities around the residential areas is a plausible solution. For example, a psychological study, recently conducted, found that people are generally less likely to exercise if they have to travel a long distance to get to the exercise location. As this shows, the establishment of such facilities near people’s residences is an effective method to address lifestyle-related problems.

As is clear, targeted educational campaigns and setting up more health clubs are two effectual ways to make people form healthy habits and become healthy individuals. It is thus hoped that these strategies are put into practice by the masses the world over.