People remember special gifts or resents that they receive. Why?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Write at least 250 words.

A gift always brings a smile on one's face. Be it an expensive gift or a modest one, presents always manage to light up a person. And if it's a special one then, needless to say it makes one's day.

Regardless of age, presents make a person feel special and important. As a child I used to always look forward to my birthday as that was the day I got lots of gifts. On that day everything seemed special but today after a decade, if asked to recollect my birthday gifts, I can remember only a few. The reason being these were very special gifts given to me by my parents and my close friends. I still remember the wrist watch gifted to me by my father on my 10th birthday. It was very unique for its time. I wore it to school every day and proudly showed it off to one and all.

Special presents are generally given to mark special occasions or to celebrate milestones. It always shows affection, love and a special bond. This is one of the main reasons why people remember certain presents that they receive. Occasions like 18th, 21st or 50th birthday, weddings, 1st anniversary or having a baby, new house-warming or retirement, 1st job or graduation day are all such special milestones on which people receive or give special presents. Along with the celebratory day, the gifts add to the joy and enjoyment. Likewise, any presents that have monetary value or a great practical use like say a car or a refrigerator always reminds one of the giver. Since that person has managed to bring about a change in one's life it is hard to forget such a gesture.

Thus, any gift given to mark a special occasion or a present that brings about a change to one's life is always cherished and remembered. It is symbolic of the love and affection a person has.