People’s shopping habits depend more on the age group they belong to than any other factor. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many individuals think that there is a direct correlation between people’s age and their shopping preferences. I totally disagree with this statement since people of all ages might want to buy food and look stylish.

One of the main reasons for my disagreement is the desire of people of all age brackets to purchase food. In order to stay alive, all people, be they sixteen or sixty years old individuals, should buy and consume a huge variety of products. Therefore, all of them would no doubt be purchasing meals throughout the course of their entire life. For example, on a daily basis, I observe people of different ages in supermarkets who buy the same types of food, such as bread, milk and vegetables.

Another reason why I do not support the view that people’s shopping habits are affected by their age is because all people may want to look trendy. Being members of society, many people, be they schoolgirls or adult women, have no other choice but to buy modern clothes to look fashionable and to feel confident. As a result, there are many manufacturers of clothes which create their products aimed at people of different age brackets. For instance, my grandmother Liz, who is seventy years old, is almost addicted to buying dresses and shoes as she has still been working for a marketing company and from her point of view she has to look perfectly.

In conclusion, I completely disagree that shopping habits of people vary in accordance with their age because all individuals should buy food to survive and many people tend to buy clothes during their whool life to look modern and appropriate.