People should never eat meat because raising animals for human consumption is cruel.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, breeding animals for human consumption became an awful business. Some believe that animals are meant to become a food of humans. However, I strongly feel that raising them for human consumption is undoubtedly a vicious activity.

Firstly, for the sake of proteins and calcium, tons of kilos of meat is being consumed on a daily basis worldwide. As a consequence, many animal species are becoming endangered and would vanish soon. Every year the reproduction rate of Turkey is dropping by 15% approximately and now it became one of the rarest animals found in the USA due to the breeding business. To illustrate the statement, according to the recent survey of Food Drugs Association of India, last year, approximately 40000 kg meat was consumed on the eve of New Year. To prevent the mass murder of animals, we should consider vegetables and lentils as a source of proteins.

Moreover, ruthless activities like killing an animal and eating them will not only set a negative example in front of children but also affect adversely on their psychology. Although youngsters are sensitive and blind followers of their parents, many folks purchase live chicken and dispatch it at home in front of their children that could affect their mentality. According to a survey done by the BBC network, many children replied that killing an animal for the purpose of consumption is inhuman activity when asked for their opinion on animal killing.

In conclusion, due to the heavy consumption of meat and the adverse effect of killing animals at home on children's mind, I believe that animals should not be raised for eating purpose.