People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on individuals and on society?

It is true that in many countries, sleep duration of people have reduced significantly as compared to past. While many factors contribute to lack of sleep in the contemporary world, it could impact both on individual and societal level.

There are numerous factors involved in causing less sleep in modern generations. First major contributing factor is work overload. With regard to the former, people are doing extra hours of physical and mental activities, such as doing overtime to save more money for family needs, or studying till late night during exams. This would, consequently, lead to less time available for sleeping. Another vital element that contributes to lack of sleep is depression. In other words, people are facing an immense amount of stress, both at personal and professional level than ever before. As tension of any kind would, ultimately, keep a person’s mind busy thinking while he might be trying to sleep. For instance, a broken relationship with a lover, could definitely cause sleeplessness.

Reduced amount of sleep exerts detrimental effects on both individuals and society. To begin with, it would have negative impact on an individual’s overall physical and mental health. Scientific evidence suggests that lack of sleep would cause brain damage and increased risk of chronic diseases such as hypertension, as well as reduced focus on work related tasks. Thus, it reduces general performance of a person. At the same time, society is also negatively impacted by people who are deprived from sleep. It alters the perception and judgement of people at workplace. As a result, it would cause unhealthy decisions that will impact whole society negatively. Drowsy-driving related accidents are the real time example of sleep deprivation, causing loss of precious lives.

In conclusion, it can be seen that modern lifestyle has adversely impacted the sleep patterns of people, which, in turn, is negatively affecting the progression of individuals and the society.