People sleep less than before in many countries. Why do people sleep less? What effect does it have on an individually and society?

Have you ever had to work overnight to meet a project deadline? Or to study till the dawn to prepare for an examination the next day? Nowadays many people are facing problems of inadequate sleep because of extremely high demand and expectation in works. This essay will explore the reasons behind and the potential negative effects of this on both personal and community level.

Work life balance is almost a luxury in working environment today. Due to the advancement of technology and the spread of capitalism across the globe that emphasizes growth and continuous improvement, we are always being pushed to the limit and asked to be more productive. As a result, we are constantly finding ways to make more time, which usually means sacrificing our sleeping hours. For instance, according to a recent research conducted by the Hong Kong University, over 70% of local graduates are working over 15 hours a day in those highly competitive industries, like finance and technology sectors, just to secure their jobs.

The impact of not enough sleep is vital. First of all, sleeping less than the recommended 7-8 hours a day could cause tiredness, depression, loss of concentration, or even more severe health problems. For example, over 50 common aging and health problems are found to be associated with not having enough rest. Although more science evidence is required to conclude, this is certainly something we should be aware of. Besides, when many members in the society have sleeping deprivation, productivity as a whole will be impacted and rise in healthcare and insurance costs is expected.

In conclusion, people in general are sleeping less because of social pressure to stay competitive. If we don’t change this now, we will foresee more and more people having health problems which would lift the costs in healthcare and lower productivity of the whole community. Therefores, governments all over the world should look at this problem more seriously and develop solutions to rectify that.