Nowadays, crime has become the hottest topic around the world. Many people think that the number of criminals would be decreased if they are given longer prison sentences. However, others said that there are other alternative solutions for reducing crime. In my point of view, I believe that the longer time in jail could not help reduce crime, there are other better ways.

On the one hand, giving longer prison sentences does wonder for the changes of criminals in the future. If they stay in jail longer, they would have more time to think about their actions and be repented in order to become good people when they are out. On top of that, volunteer activities play a pivotal role in prison, they will have more opportunities to pick up some jobs that they could do for their living in the future. As a case in point, there are a huge number of criminals who

On the other hand, there is a range of other solutions that are beneficial to drop the number of criminals. Firstly, the promotion of avoiding drugs gives rise to limit crime, those who are addicted to drugs usually try to be a thief to steal others' money in order to buy the new one for them. Moreover, thanks to the enhancement of the internet, teenagers are likely to spend more time on their social media, but this is a double-edged sword because they could observe many negative actions. Hence, the government should control the information which is posted on the Internet.

In conclusion, to be honest, the longer time in jail does not make criminals become good people after prison. The best way to reduce crime is trying to avoid it before it happens.