People think that old buildings should be knocked down and give way to modern buildings. Do you agree or disagree with the statement? How important are old buildings to us?

Historical monuments play a significant role in displaying the heritage of the past. Some people argue that the old constructions must be demolished by making the place for new ones. However, I partially agree with this notion and this essay will discuss the importance of old monuments as well as new buildings.

First of all, old buildings are important because these monuments are the reflections of our culture and carry intrinsic values. They help us to understand and respect people who lived in different eras with different habits and traditions. For instance, the Taj Mahal is considered one of the seven wonders of the world because it was preserved for more than 400 years and since then attracting tourists because of its jaw-dropping craftsmanship. Moreover, visits to these historical sites are paid and hence fetch enough revenue. Tourism is one of the most important industries which adds to the development by increasing the GDP.

In contrast, some old buildings are not strong enough with errors like containing asbestos and tilted pillars. Such dilapidated structures could collapse at any time leading to ramifications to the public residing nearby. Hence, to save the damage to the life and property, these structures should be renovated if possible or torn down giving way to the new ones. Furthermore, these old buildings which do not attract visitors anymore can be replaced by the urbanized structures like a sports stadium or a museum which will benefit and enrich the community. These sites of development will also increase the value of the properties around them.

To conclude, as it is true that preserving historical and old monuments will not only reflect the history but also aid the government to add up to the monetary value of the country. However, demolishing structures that are rickety and creating new ones can benefit society.