Politicians’ private lives shouldn’t be published in news papers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is always argued whether the media should reveal the private lives of the politician’s or not. Many people claim that the public has the right to know any details related to the politician, while I believe that a public figure’s private life should remain confidential.

In the one hand, every individual has to enjoy confidentiality, and politicians are not an exception from this rule. To illustrate, apart from the political arena, a politician is a regular citizen who needs to enjoy private times away from the spotlight in order to have a normal and balanced life. In addition, if the press constantly invades the privacy of the public officials, some worthy candidates may be discouraged from running for any public office. Hence, the community would lose valuable opportunities to benefit from such candidates, as no one would like to have their financial state, health problems, or relationships disclosed.

On the other hand, those who advocate publicizing the private life of politicians claim that these politicians have put themselves into the public sphere intentionally; moreover, they might be using their private lives to promote for their campaigns. However, I believe this thought is ill-founded owing to the fact that unless the private lives of the politicians are negatively affecting the way they lead, there is no need for intruding their zone of privacy. In other words, citizens should criticize public officials for their public decisions; therefore, they must have information that would enable them to judge how well officials are performing their jobs. That is why in some countries, France for example, there is strict legislation to protect public officials’ private lives.

To conclude, despite the existence of some opinions in favor of the action of publishing the private lives of politicians in the media, I reiterate that they owe the complete right to live a normal life away from the media pressure.