Popular hobbies and interests change over time and are more a reflection of trends and fashions than an indication of what individuals really want to do in their spare time To what extent do you agree with this statement

In this modern era, the advancement of technology affects each and every individual’s life. A group of persons tends to believe that interests, as well as hobbies, are changed over time because human beings want to enjoy their lives according to their own method of living and trends. I quite agree with the statement because there are several reasons for it. I will elaborate causes in the following paragraphs of this essay.

The first and foremost reason is modern technology because nowadays miracles, as well as more advanced, is happening in the technology which attracts more and more people towards it. As a result of it, in the present time, manpower has fully indulged in using electronic commodities and playing games online. For instance, in the past time, children loved to play indoor and outdoor games such as board games, collecting coins or stamps, hide and seek, tire racing and so on. In these games, physical strengths have been using and their body became strong. Due to this, they lived in the pink of their health.

The second cause for it is globalization. Because in this present world, globalization has been increasing day by day. So, a plethora of persons migrates from one country to another country for work or study. By this, they adopt the culture, interest, trend, and hobbies of their peers. As a result of it, their interests and hobbies could be changed.

However, there are some other human beings who have enjoyed the same hobbies and interests as they did in their past time such as reading, jogging, cycling, swimming and so on. They keep their interests remain until now. So, there is no effect on such persons.

To conclude, it is rightly said that when in Rome, do as the Romans do. So that the globalization, as well as modern technology, are responsible for the changed hobbies and interests of human beings. People go to foreign countries and acquire the traditions and cultures of alien countries.