The practice of illegally hunting wild animals continues to cause concern in many countries, particularly developing countries. What are the causes of such hunting? What are the effects on the animals and on the wider human society in these countries and beyond?

Poaching of wildlife is increasingly becoming a worrisome practice especially in less developed countries. This essay will discuss two major causes of this unethical act and the consequences on animals and the society in general.

To begin, the high demand for certain animal parts to treat diseases is a major cause of these unnecessary killing of untamed animals. Despite the advancements in orthodox medicine, many people still believe in the efficacy of using animals to cure certain diseases. For example, thousands of ivory tusks from illegally slain elephants are smuggled to China for preparation of traditional medicine. Another reason for this menace is poverty. Many inhabitants of areas with large animal population are usually poor and see these animals as fair game that can be eaten Despite government regulations banning hunting, unfortunately people still secretly engage. A good illustration is in the Kenyan Serengeti plains,where tribesmen have been apprehended, while setting traps for lions and buffaloes they would consume.

The major impact of slaying animals is threat of extinction. In times past , many wild animals had a healthy population, but these days are on the brink of being wiped off, thereby distorting the natural food chain. For example, the activities of poachers in Rwanda has depleted the number of rhinoceros in that country. With regards to humans, the impact of using animals for medical treatment often results in fatality because there is no scientific proof that they are effective. A notable Japanese singer, was said to have opted for tortoise-shell therapy to cure breast cancer, which it proved ineffective resulting in her death afterwards.

In conclusion, unlawful hunting of wild animals is very harmful to humans and the animals alike. Government should look into this issue and create policies and punishment to discourage this act.