More and more people are relying on private cars as their means of transportation. Describe some problems over reliance can cause and suggest possible solutions

Nowadays, a lot of people are depending on private cars as their mode of commuting. This development can lead to some issues such as traffic congestion and air pollution. This essay will elaborate on these problems and proffer solutions .

To begin with, the increase in cars owned by people can result in traffic gridlock. This is because the number of vehicles on the road contribute to road jams in most cities, as a result of several commuters plying same routes to work and school. In Lagos for example, there were less than ten thousand private cars in the 80’s with little or no traffic, however, this situation changed drastically as more people became car owners. Another point of note is the attendant pollution of the atmosphere. In other words, cars emit toxic fumes which becomes noticeable when there are many automobiles concentrated in an area. For instance, in Beijing China air pollution is a serious epidemic plaguing the city and experts have attributed it to carbon emissions from cars.

Admittedly, there are several solutions to the problems highlighted above , two of which are provision of state of the art public transportation and subsidizing electric cars. Firstly, government should make available modern buses and trains to attracts more passengers thereby reducing the number of car users . Also , the use of electric vehicles ought to be supported owing to the fact that they have no emissions unlike the traditional motor car. The technology being a new one is somewhat expensive and unaffordable by many. The government should cut the cost price by paying the manufacturers grants leading to a reduction in selling prices.

To sum up, investing in new public transport vehicles and reducing prices of electric cars by policy makers are possible ways to curb the problems associated with over dependency on private cars