Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea. some people think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree

A major reason for land and sea pollution is the usage of plastic shopping bags. A certain school of thought is of the opinion that its usage be forbidden. I completely agree with this view because would help reduce the amount of waste and also encourage use of environmental friendly paper bag. In this essay the reason for this view will be discussed in detail.

Firstly, stopping the use of plastic shopping bags will help reduce the quantity of waste products in circulation. It is common these days for people to liter the ground and waterways with these bags they use to carry major food and grocery products. An outright ban ensures that plastic waste do not find their way into the rivers and roads. For example, Rwanda banned the use of plastics in 2016 and has been voted the cleanest African country for the past two years.

Another point of note is that eradicating the use of plastic bags encourages use of other greener options like paper. In other words, paper shopping bags are easier to recycle and manage when compared with the plastic ones and as such reduces the potential for pollution. For example, scientific research shows that paper waste decomposes in a few days while plastic ones decompose in about hundred years.

In conclusion, although it is certain that as plastic bags contribute to pollution in our environment and needs to be banned. Humans also have a role to play in controlling pollution, they should be educated on the need to properly dispose their waste be it plastic or paper.