Ielts question today!!! Weddings are becoming very expensive thesedays when compared to the past.

What are causes of this?

It it a positive or negative development

Weddings these days have become very exorbitant unlike in times past. Some causes of this development are media influence and show off mentality of the 21st century man. The impact of this on the society can be said to be negative. The causes and effects of this trend will be discussed in detail in this essay.

The primary reason for expensive weddings these days is media influence. In the past the influence of media was very limited, but these days people are bombarded with latest wedding trend and high class weddings on social and print media resulting in them wanting similar weddings even though they are costly. For example, a recent marriage trend in Nigeria copied from social media is prewedding pictures that costs over 300,000 naira on the average. Another reason for increase in affluent wedding rites is the desire to out do peers and families. Many people these days want their events to be the talk of the town and as such procure State of the art halls, live bands and imported clothings.

The impact of this is a negative one. Firstly, couples have resorted to loans to meet up with the financial requirements for a societal wedding. This has led to indebtedness and put a strain on their young marriages. For instance , the Managing Director of Renmoney, a loan agency in Nigeria, disclosed that newly weds are most likely to default on their loans due to the excessive funds commited to their marriage ceremonies. Secondly, it has led to increase in unmarried people. In other words, many are unable to take the leap due to the financial consideration involved these days. In olden days cheap weddings at the brides home was common, but these days it is seen as an anomaly.

In conclusion, media pressure and tendency to outdo others are the reason for costly weddings which has led many to financial stress and made lots of people dread marriage.