AN increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

Of recent, more people are resorting to e-commerce to purchase items they require and desire. This development has led to both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay , both sides will be discused in detail.

First and foremost, online shopping has afforded consumers the opportunity of taking advantage of best deals available in the market. In other words, people can easily browse through several websites with easy to get the cheapest prices which ordinarily would be impossible with traditional shops. For example, in a survey conducted by the Nigerian data association, most respondents confirmed that they visited more than five websites to compare prices before settling for the least expensive. In addition, selling on the internet allows companies reach out to a larger customer base due to the global availability of the internet . For example, the CEO of Konga Nigeria show the companys' sales increased after migration to the Konga cyberstore.

In contrast, the growth of e-commerce also has some downsides. Firstly, it has led to frivilous spending by shoppers. Often time, adverts are targeted at people on social media which can subject them to spontanoues spending. Furthermore, buying online exposes users and organisations to the risk of fraud. Payment and receipt of funds to consumers and sellers respectively require credit cards that are prone to phishing and hacking. In 2017, the Royal bank of Scotland recorded over five hundred cases of unauthorised payments arising from a hacked online payment platform.

To sum up, shopping on line allows people enjoy bargain and also increase target market of companies. However, it encourages inpulse buying and exposes firms and customers to online frauds