Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic.

Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunize their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunize their children?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Technological advancement in the world of medicine has made the human life-span much longer. Toddlers are recommended vaccination against life-threatening diseases. Many governments around the world, have enforced measures towards eradication of common viral illnesses through effective vaccines, especially in the formative years of a child. However, some people opine that this should be solely a decision of the parents. In this essay, I would like to discuss the merits and demerits of the legal obligations of vaccinating children.

Firstly, vaccination is a vital step towards safeguarding an infant from easily contactable ailments. Some governments have legally declared vaccination as an integral part of the child-healthcare. Parents are asked to immunize their child within a specific time period, to negate any chances of sickness. This is largely done in public interest to prevent any wide-spread epidemic and ensure better health.

Unfortunately, in certain cases, vaccinations may adversely affect a child’s body. A new-born infant has a weak immune system and can fall prey to deadly viruses rather easily. These viruses constantly mutate and thus, vaccines are constantly improvised and invented. Therefore, some parents prefer a prescribed vaccination from their own general physician, and ensure a suitable time frame to induce the vaccine. Sometimes, children can be too delicate to withhold the impact of vaccination.

Furthermore, parents believe that a personal examination of their baby’s health will determine a more suitable decision than following a ritual regularized by a legal body. People must be informed about the harmful effects of viral diseases and its preventive measures. Awareness and information on the side effects and the benefits of vaccines should be made available to all members of society for free.

In a nutshell, countries are striving hard towards providing free medical care. Hence, it is made compulsory for every parent to take the necessary steps and vaccinate their child to prevent an outbreak of an epidemic. A healthy nation is a wealthy nation.