Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

News is one of the most important integral part . Although news could be either be printed or may be broadcasted through media, while the authenticity of the news should not be pulled down. Nowadays, the news has been influenced by the news editor and presented it to the community to get more attention from the end users. But sadly, this kind of alteration is creating a major harm to the society.

There is a plethora of reasons for the same. Firstly, news editors end up changing the news because of personal and political reasons. Although there might be some truth behind the story, unless there is some personal or political reason involved, the news will not be altered to present it to the community. For instance, if someone from the media has spotted a politician getting bribed, they will make a huge headline. This will in turn spoil the image of the politician in front of the society. To avoid this, a lot of threats will be passed to the news editors due to which under the threat influence the media will have to alter the content and then present it to the world. The authenticity of the news has gone down the drain.

In addition, as the news needs to be really captivating, it is extremely easy for people to look up to the news with problems over to the news with some achievements. As the news editor knows the trick, they try and alter all the good news with the rephrased headlines to catch one’s attention. To illustrate this topic, the media would highlight the news like the Prime Minister is using the tax money for his own benefits. As this is a negative headline, the reader will first have a look through this and then try and read the content to understand the real reason behind the headline.

On the whole, it would be better if the news presented on the media or printed in the newspaper could have more authenticity and could be reported correctly in it’s true form. This will help the community to understand the issues going in the current world. News editors should understand that spreading the good news would help the community to fight against the problem rather than using the bad news to captivate one’s attention.