Providing a national system in a country where the unemployed receive a regular payment only encourages people not to seek work and puts an unreasonable strain on a country's financial resources.

Discuss this statement and give your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge.

There is no doubt in my mind that the prime responsibility of any nation's government is provide the basic necessities to each and every citizen of country. Therefore, providing a regular payment to the unemployed sometimes encourages them not to seek for a job and this may lead to a burden on a economy of country.

Let me begin with an example of developed nations like Canada, New Zealand and United Kingdom where the government provide Minimum wages to their citizen for their survival only. There are two more forms of Wages, Fair Wage system where the government takes care of citizen's survival and their health. Whereas, the last form is known as Living Wages which includes entertainment also apart for survival and health which needs to be earn by individual only.

For providing the first two forms of wages to the unemployed, the government has to consider all ins and outs of the finances.because this will surely affects the economy. Whether it is a developing nation with emerging economies or a developed nation with super strong assets, unemployment is always a biggest bottleneck of development and growth.

In an addendum to this, financial support to unemployed also tends to lathargy to those people as they know that the government