Public celeberations (such as national days, festivals etc) are held in most countries. These are often quite expensive and some people say that governments should spend money on more useful things.

Do you agree or disagree?

The public days and collective celebrations are integral days for celebrating national pride, rich culture as well as days of reuniting in an occupied life. I totally disagree, with this viewpoint that national days or ceremonies are economic expenditure of the country and these funds could be utilised in other productive activities.

To begin with, in contemporary times, particularly in these days people praise their martyrs or freedom fighters who are national pride and remind the country's importance as well as cultural values from their hectic lifestyle. For example, in India such as republic day, independence day and Gandhi Jayanti are the days where Indians pay their tribute to their dignitaries who fought or sacrificed their lives for the nation. Moreover, the days of national importance might be lessons for the young generation where they get to know about their freedom struggle and ideologies of national heroes. These days are vitally important for national significance and young brains can learn about their culture and national values.

Secondly, the cultural days could be important to organise the reunions and community gatherings. Since, nowadays, most of the individuals do not have enough time for meeting their loved ones. Although, people try to manage some time on this special occasion to meet with their families or friends. However, these festive days could generate income or boost the economy of the country. According to business statistics on festivals like Christmas, Diwali and Eid the economy shows dramatic rise, which is beneficial for the nation's economy. Thus, the community days may be helpful to organise the social gatherings during sedentary lifestyle and assist the livelihood of the people.

Overall, it seems advisable that public days are paramount for the enlightenment of the children about their great history. In addition, it is a medium of sharing beautiful moments with society as well as an economic boost for the nation.