Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as al facilities and books will be available online for all to access. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries only existing online.

In this contemporary world, everything is going digital and libraries following the trend is no longer a discussion. The availability of online public libraries will not only create space for starting health facilities and providing homes to homeless people but one can also access the resources at their convenient time. This essay will explore the merits and demerits of this trend.

The main disadvantage of having an online public library is that, it is not providing the same calm environment which is provided by a physical library. Therefore, one can easily loose concentration while working on an assignment either accessing it from home or café. For instance, during my Master degree, I used to access library online at home, but easily deviated from the work because of noisy neighbours. Furthermore, another demerit is the health issues that arises because of constantly looking at screen of monitor or laptop. According to research, the screen emits radiations that are harmful to our eyes and causes irritation to them which results in dryness of eyes. So, non-availability of calm environment and health are the issues that occur because of use of online public library.

Firstly, the main benefit of using online resources is an ease of access, that is, one can easily access the required material from anywhere in the world just by login into their account. For instance, my cousin, had completed his degree from distance learning and remotely accessing the university library for assignments. Secondly, having online library is that the availability of space, free up by the libraries, can be used to provide health facilities or shelter to homeless people. By doing so, the mortality rate can become lower and on the whole it can become more significant. Therefore, the easily access of resources and better use of empty spaces are the main two merits of having public libraries online.

In conclusion, the atmosphere of tranquility in a physical library is unmatchable and working from online resources results in loosing concentration. Also, by using devices like kindle, laptop or computers, health problems related with eyes can arise due to the radiations emitting from the screens.