Public libraries will soon no longer be housed in a building as all facilities and books will be available online for all to access.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of public libraries only existing online.

Digitization has improved the way we use certain things. Some people think the public libraries should leverage on the technology and offer books online. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

One of the biggest challenges with the online books is one has to have a device with an internet connection to access them. However, the availability of the internet is not global. For instance, a student preparing for an exam in an area without internet will not be able to access needed resources. Secondly, reading online requires good viewer software like Adobe Reader, etc. with a better screen resolution to avoid stress on individual health. Thirdly, reading books online may not be comfortable for some people, especially when you have to refer to different sections in the book.

On the other hand, online availability of books can offer various advantages. Firstly, one doesn't need to spend time in traveling to the physical location of the library during open hours. Resources can be accessed from anywhere, like school or home. Secondly, there will not be much cost involved in order to maintain the library as there won't be any wear or tear on the digital copies, and the saved cost could be utilized in upgrading the library's collection. Thirdly, digital copies will have a longer life compared to the physical ones and tracking can be done more effectively.

To conclude, public libraries should be made available online considering technological advancement. With the increased availability of e-copies, supported devices like Kindle ensures a good reading experience to the user. This will even certainly help the end users to access the resources more effectively, be it finding or borrowing a book.