Q) Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things we don't really need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is thought by some people that unnecessary spending is often caused by the bombardment of advertisements, while others opine that adverts provide information regarding the latest commodities in the market, thereby enriching the lives of people. In my opinion, I agree that promotion of goods and services in media encourages people to buy

Things that are not necessary.

To begin with, companies engaged in advertising often use images of luxury, glamour, and success, in order to increase people’s purchasing of unwanted products. As a result, girls highly influenced by models and actresses used in promotion, often waste their pocket money on expensive makeup brands, with a view to look like them. Moreover, most vulnerable audiences like children are unable to differentiate between adverts and actual TV programs, causing them to pester their parents for toys and gadgets, with which they might play for only a few hours.

Another point to consider is that adverts take advantage of consumer’s weakness to succumb to peer pressure, causing extra expenditure of their income on wasteful things.

In other words, people have the urge to keep up with the latest trends and clever advertisers know this, and, create promotions in such a way that people feel inferior if they can’t own a product. Mobile phones and other electronic gadgets are one of the best examples that people wish to buy as a result of their need to keep up with joneses.

In conclusion, advertising exerts an adverse influence on people’s minds, making them squander their money on unnecessary objects by appealing them with attractive images and instilling a sense of superiority of keeping up with the latest fashion.