The qualities and skills that a person requires to become successful in today's world cannot be learned at a university or other academic institutions.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, there is a heated argument over the issue that the present higher education system does not help student to gain an acquired skill set which is needed to become successful in life. A loin’s share of society favors it however the rest go averse it. The following paragraph would shed some light on my view points.

I agree to the statement that current education system is not helping much to gain the qualities and skill set required to become successful. To begin with the grading system, intelligence can not be measured with good marks or grades but with the use of brain. For example, Albert Einstein and few other famous and successful personalities had dropped out from their colleges and still were able to achieve a lot in their lives.

Furthermore, schooling can provide you degrees and certificates but not the mantra for success, for that everyone has to struggle on his own. To get a better job we definitely need degrees from a reputed colleges or universities. However, to start a business we should have a vision of future which has not been taught anywhere in the education system.

Lastly, education system which is in practice in present has been developed and invented years ago. However, the world has drastically changing since then, and no one tried to upgrade the education system. Therefore, I believe the curriculum we are following is outdated and is not of enough to use for present and future generations. For instance, being in IT we have felt that the technologies and languages being used presently in industry is very much different or advanced than what we had been taught in our engineering.

To conclude, considering all the points mentioned above a weak education system cannot help to develop a successful career instead the presence of an intellectual mind. Education system does give you a nourishment but not the acquired skill set you required to become successful.