Question: People are now living longer. In fact, in many countries, the average age is now reaching 80 years. What are the advantages and disadvantages in a society where people are living longer?

In my own observation, society is now quite conscious on how to keep life lasting longer. However, there are few pros and cons of why some people in other countries live longer.

First, I would like to share two advantages, such as a better economy and healthy living environment.

Foreign countries like the USA, some parts of Europe like Paris and Japan, their economic status provided a lot of opportunities to have a better career that could help people to have money and buy stuff to maintain their well being. The other one is how they maintain the quality of their environment safely and have healthy practices for them to enjoy life. They have clean water to use for food consumption, washing and cleaning, less air pollution as they have good management on how to control waste and well controlled crime incidents. I believe that these components are a major contribution of why their people live longer. When people's feelings are being secured and safe, it promotes and provides comforts and motivations to keep going.

Lastly , there are disadvantages that I could think about like poverty, overpopulation and lack of education which I take these views from those third countries such as Philippines, my own country. A lot of my countrymen are struggling financially which may be related to big families and lack of education. When there are so many members in one family, it's really hard to provide healthy foods on the table especially when the parents have no jobs. Poverty is the number one factor that could really cause to shorten the lifespan of most Filipinos.

To summarise, a person who lives in a country with a better lifestyle because of a good career and healthy environment will have a good life and live longer whereas if a person falls in the poverty line, he faces difficulty to strive to live a better life.