Question : Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes ( for examples working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children ) . To what extent do you agree or disagree)

Community service such as engaging in charitable activities, developing the neighborhood or assisting the youngsters to develop skills in sport have proved to be greatly beneficial to the society in the past. In the recent times, community service is increasingly unpopular among the people in the society. Some people claim that unpaid compulsory community should be incorporated into high school programmes. This essay will argue why incorporating community service into high school programmes is completely necessary despite its possible negative effect.

Some people believe that introduction of community service as part of the requirements to be fulfilled before graduating from high school will result to increase in students' academic workloads . Thus, this will consequently have negative effect on the students' performance and attitude towards their academics. For example, in the last few years, truancy among the high school school students has greatly increased. The rate at which young people are abandoning school has also increased due to tedious academic activities. Therefore, addition of unpaid compulsory community service with the existing academic workloads could worsen the situation .

Despite the little disadvantage associated with incorporating unpaid compulsory community service into high school programmes, failure to implement it would be a great mistake. Establishment of unpaid community service will assist the high school students to develop sense of responsibility and accountability . The programme will help them to become a responsible adult as they will be more responsible to others and also responsive to the needs of the people , particularly when they hold political offices in future. For instance, the major reason why sense of accountability and responsibility are scarce among our political leaders is because there was no such program to instil these important virtues in them. There is no doubt that implementation of unpaid compulsory community service in high school programmes will help the students to useful to themselves , others and the society at large.

In conclusion , it is evident that the benefits of incorporating unpaid mandatory community service cannot be overemphasized as this program will be of immense benefit to the individual student and the society in the long run despite its possible insignificant weakness.