Recent advances in air travel have focused only on those sitting in upper class and have left other passengers with no benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Air planes, quickest and preferred way of transport for long distances, have seen tremendous technological advancements in recent decades. The major focus of these upgrades has always on the convenience and comfort of passengers. The argument states that business class travelers have been the beneficiary of these upgrades as compared to the economical class travelers. I do not agree with this notion and will explain in the forthcoming paragraphs.

In the earlier versions of aircrafts, seating arrangements in economy class section were not adequate, the seats were less cushy and did not come with entertainment features, which made the travel boring. However, with advancements over time, the seats now have better cushions and safety features to keep the passenger safe and secure while the plane faces air turbulence. Moreover, the seats are also equipped with in-flight entertainment systems, small TVs have been installed in the back of headrest so that people while seated can also enjoy watching movies of their choice, which was not the case earlier.

Adding further, another area of improvement is the inflight dining experience, which lacked variety and passenger were left to stick with one or two cuisines. While some eatables were charged over and above the base ticket price, the advancements in catering services enabled the airlines to offer multiple cuisines to its customers at no extra cost. As a result, people can select their preferences in vegetarian and non-vegetarian foods at the time of reservation. Adding further, during the flight hours passengers are also provided with wines and beverages of their choice while enhancing their inflight experience.

Summing up, the above explained advancements have provided the passengers with better experience, which were earlier provided to persons travelling in upper class, whereas, they pay twice the cost of economy class airfare. Thus, the contention of some people stating that economical travelers have been neglected, does not stand a chance at all. Every customer is receiving the best value for money spent from his pocket.