In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers are travel to large shopping centres to d their shopping.

Recently, much smaller indigenous shops have shutdown due to large influx of people to bigger shopping complex centres for their shopping. And this is definitely a demerit because it will lead to unemployment and poor standard of living.

Needless to say, there is going to be an increase in unemployment. When people businesses closed down, the resulting hardship is inevitable because that is where they make money to meet their daily obligations and will lead and increased strain on government funds as such people will have to depend on government for sustenance. In addition, there has been an increase in rate of crime as most of them result into robbery and constitute a menace to the entire community due to idleness. Many people have lost their lives and properties and a host of law-abiding citizens go about their daily work with panic and fear of being robbed or harassed.

In addition, low standard of living is inevitable when people cannot provide for themselves it leads to many hardships. Feeding becomes a serious issue, accommodation is also another problem encountered and most importantly, their children may end up being out of school due to inability to pay school fees. For example, in 2015 , the erection of Maryland Shopping Mall , a lot of people stopped patronising convenience stores in the locality which led to a lot of businesses closing down.

To conclude, the emergence of bigger shops in shopping malls has been a pitfall for many smaller shops around their communities and that has led to mass unemployment and indescribable condition of living.