Recent years, the number of crimes committed by young people in major cities throughout the world is increasing. Discuss this issue. Give reasons and suggest some solutions.

It has been observed through recent survey that, there is a significant increase in the crime ratio of adolescents in all urban areas across the globe. The main reasons for such outcomes are development of a consumerist society and increase in the poverty caused by unemployment. In this essay, I shall describe causes and also outline the ways to solve this problem.

Firstly, increased number of advertisements and celebrity endorsements has developed consumerist culture. Therefore nowadays, people tend to buy goods impulsively because of which they suffer from financial crises additionally they lost importance of saving money which ultimately results into increase theft, suicide, etc. For instance, in Ahmedabad, police have caught gang of 20 thefts and unfortunately it was sixth incident in a year.

Second main reason is increase in unemployment, which ultimately leads to poverty. Hence, sometimes youngsters turn to crime to establish their needs. Many people left without job because, they are unemployable due to insufficient skill and knowledge. For example, resent study showed that there are 45% young people not employed in India, among them 70% are unemployable.

To overcome this issue firstly, government should put some restrictions on frequency and exaggeration of advertisements and should conduct awareness programs on the importance of investment and saving of money. Secondly, there is extreme need to change in education system to level up children's growth. Thirdly, youth should develop their own abilities to survive in competition and also should use the electronic media for development of themselves and country instead of, using for crime and wastage of time.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that there are many reasons of increase in crime among youth like, increasing in purchasing trend and unemployment due to poor education but on the other hand, there are various solutions like controlling advertisements, stimulating good education and wise of electronic devices.