For a long time, animals have been used as test subjects for medical research. Some people believe that this practice is unacceptable.

How much do you agree with this opinion?

For many years, medical research has used animals to test treatments, cures and vaccines. It has been argued by many people that this animal experimentation should be banned. Although animal testing has some drawbacks, I am of the opinion that medical research on animals must continue.

However, testing medicines on animals needs to continue for several reasons. Clearly, this kind of research has proven effective in treating HIV, AIDS, Malaria and countless other life-threatening diseases. These diseases target the poorest of humanity and thus this research is justified from an ethical standpoint. Most importantly, there are no reasonable alternatives to this kind of research. The only other options are to stop making progress in the fight to cure disease or to begin testing on humans.

There are a number of concerns associated with the practice of testing medicines on animals. First of all, ethical arguments could be raised around the rights of animals. Some would argue that animals, particularly primates, should have the same rights as humans seeing that they share our DNA and have intelligence. Secondly, the way animals are treated even in the best facilities is cruel. For example, animals are kept in cages, injected with deadly viruses and often euthanized.

In conclusion, while medical research on animals infringes on the rights of primates in particular, and is no doubt cruel, it also has a history of helping the people most affected by disease and illness. Furthermore, the alternatives to this practice are unthinkable. Therefore, I believe that testing medicines on animals is necessary.