In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst younger generations. WHY is this happening? DO you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Recently, the idea of buying used garments has been increasingly adopted by young people. Not only will this essay reveal the reasons behind this trend but it will also discuss why I believe this phenomenon has great positive impacts on both youth and society.

The driving force behind this trend is the decreased financial state of most young people these days. To illustrate, the relation between prices and pocket money of an average young person is inversely proportional as the prices are soaring more with every passing year. That is why purchasing second-hand clothing may offer a salient solution for youngsters to buy whatever they want in a low cost. Moreover, young people now are greatly influenced by TV and social media celebrities; they like to follow their idol’s styles which involve extremely expensive brands. In Egypt for example, a brand new Nike sneaker can cost up to 5000 pounds, while on OLX, a second hand website, it may cost only 900 pounds.

From my perspective, this choice of wearing pre-owned garments has some considerable benefits on youth and society. Firstly, by adopting such a trend, young people are learning how to think practically in order to save more money for a prominent future. Secondly and more importantly, this phenomenon has opened a new gate for trading among countries; hence, it has contributed to lessening the unemployment rate among youth. For instance, one of my friends established her Facebook page for second-hand clothing last year which is now one of the leading pages in this field, and it pours her a high monthly profit, also she has given the opportunity for three more persons to work as moderators with her.

To conclude, the widespread adoption of second-hand clothing could be attributable to young people low income and their desire to follow the latest trends, and it seems to me that this trend is positively affecting youth and society as well.