Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views concerning the massive progression in intelligent technology field. Although there is some truth in claiming that this progress might have its hazards, I am inclined to believe that humanity will greatly benefit if such development continues to prosper.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons why it could be argued that artificial intelligence is of dire impacts on people’s lives. Firstly, some countries may use this development to produce ultimately dangerous weapons, such as power plants, which could be threatening for the lives of millions of people, and the Chernobyl disaster is still in people’s minds despite the fact that it happened 50 years ago. In addition, there are some concerns that advanced technology can invade the privacy of people and governments as well, especially in the field of telecommunication. Therefore, some countries as the USA are spending millions of dollars in order to elevate their national security.

On the other hand, I would side with those who oppose the previous argument. Humankind can benefit enormously from the prevalence of artificial technology. Initially, this development has been serving in the medical field for over than 15 years, for instance, robots which are successfully performing precise surgeries instead of human doctors. Another merit is the great assistance of artificial intelligence in exploring the outer space; hence, human can discover more about other dimensions and might find feasible solutions for some arising problems such as scarcity in land on Earth.

It can be concluded that despite being hazardous and threatening to humanity, I hold the notion that artificial technology is of paramount importance owing to its support in both medical and exploring fields.