As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people travelling, there is a growing demand for flights.

What problems does this have on the environment?

What measures could be taken to solve the problems?

In recent times because of tourism, numerous people are preferring to travel by air. This essay will explain the major problems of substantial increase in air-travel and propose possible solutions to curb this.

There are a plethora of obstacles arising due to more and more individuals travelling through jets, an important one to consider is the climate change. This is because when jet fuel is burnt, carbon molecules are released, when these combine with oxygen, carbon dioxide is produced, which causes depletion of ozone layer due to greenhouse gases emitted from this molecular reaction. As a result, the severity of ultraviolet rays has increase and causing health concerns such as skin allergies. Contrastingly, in the past, the air traffic was very minimal and the harm caused to environment is negligible. To combat this problem, organizations should shift towards 'X-Planes,' as these run on batteries. Accordingly, during the test runs of such flight models, it is proven to be more Eco-friendly by reducing 20% of the emissions per single passenger.

Another cardinal danger of rise in commercial air traffic is the water pollution. More often the lubricants, and other chemicals such as deicing fluids used on aeroplanes fall on the ground while water-storm run off mixes with these and flows into the nearby water streams to pollute clean water. For example, it is reported in media that majority of the water bodies in the environs of airports are polluted due to chemical liquids mixing with the ground water in airports. Dealing with the issue, while restricting international flight travel will be a mammoth challenge, domestic frequency should be minimized. To achieve this, there needs to be an extrotionate increase in the domestic travel ticket prices. To compensate, there needs to be a massive improvement in road transportation system. By virtue of this, the increasing demand for flights can be mitigated.

In conclusion, climatic changes and pollution of water bodies are vital issues of airways. However, by investing in electric planes and reducing frequency of domestic flights this can be negated.