The rising levels of congestion and air pollution found in most of the world's

cities can be attributed directly to the rapidly increasing number of private cars in

use. In order to reverse this decline in the quality of life in cities, attempts must be made to encourage people to use their cars less and public transport more.

Discuss possible ways to encourage the use of public transport.

Today, number of vehicles are touching heights, which has been resulting in huge amount of traffic in cities. This essay will discuss the issue and chalk out the methods that must be adopted to fix it.

There are various reasons as to why people use private transport – one of which is time saving. For example, while going to work, people do not need to wait for the buses at bus stops. Secondly, personal automobiles are much more convenient and provide comfort that can never be expected from Auto rickshaws and Buses. These factors lead to high congestion on roads, thus, increasing air pollution.

Saving time by using your own vehicle does not happen anymore. With increasing number of automobiles on roads, people are stuck in traffic for hours. This not only causes irritation and frustration but also degrades health in the long run. Constructing Metro in every congested areas should be step one. The government should also increase security on smaller routes to avoid bigger vehicles to enter. Toll tax should be levied on the extremely busy roads. Instead of paying this tax every day, people would rather prefer paying money for the public transport, which would be relatively cheaper.

To conclude, public transport need to be made convenient for the people to use on a daily basis. Alternatively, stringent policies need to be implemented if we really want to reduce the congestion on roads. Otherwise, with the large number of people migrating to big cities, this problem would never be resolved.