Technology has become a vital part of everyone’s life including children. Although we try to limit the use of mobile phones in younger age, they are able to access computers at school or home for educational purposes. Some people are concerned about the benefits that computers provide because it might drag the literacy of children, and they believe that computer should be avoided. I am of the opinion that computers gives more benefits than harm, and I am strongly disagree with the viewpoint.

On writing aspect, computers might not help improve the quality of hand writing but it does improve the quality of communication. Firstly, auto correction fixes mistyping and disagreement to ensure that the message is written with the right meaning. Secondly, writing on a computer can be deleted or reworded easily without any messy ink. Children can rearrange their sentences to maximize the quality of communication without the need to concern about rewriting the whole paragraph in paper again and again. Finally, when connected to the Internet, children can access a thesaurus to see an expanded list of synonyms and antonyms which improves the quality of their writing further.

On the other side, computers also help in reading aspect. Children can open an online dictionary to understand unfamiliar words at the second they find them. Furthermore, they can access a Wikipedia or online learning website to learn new things, those websites also have a lot of articles to be read.

In summary, computers helps improving both writing and reading skills while trading-off with hand writing skill. Although the trade-off is real, hand writing is less concerning skill than communication. More than that, I believe that in the upcoming century, people would use email rather than writing in ink and pen.