It is argued that, parents do not have a big role in the social and intellectual development of children, instead people believe that this is the responsibility of teachers. To a large extent I agree with this view, because in my opinion parents also play a significant role in the progress and success of children.

On the one hand, teachers certainly play a major role in the development of children because students spent a great deal of time at school. Apart from teaching Alphabets and numerals teachers also impart social education. They teach students how to get along with others others and also helps to cooperate and compete with one another without hurting their feelings. For example, a study conducted by the Oxford University press in 2018 found out that, schools are the best place for students to learn certain social skills. So it is evident that teachers play a significant role in the development of children.

On the other hand, the role of parents is equally, if not more, important. This is because parents are the first people children see when they come into this world and they spent all of their childhood days with their parents. Teaches play little or no role during this period. Also, parents are the ones who teaches their children certain conventions and codes of conduct, leading to the absence of problems such as bullying, truancy and delinquency in late life. Moreover, children are more likely to imitate their parents than their teachers. To illustrate, studies have found out that, majority of children learn their behaviour from their parents. From thr above facfs it is evident that parents certainty play an important role in children's life.

To conclude, there is no denying the fact that teaches help with the social and intellectual development of children. However, I believe that parents also play a significant role in the life of children because they are the first and most important influence in child's life.