Schools should stop using books for teaching children as they find them boring, and use films, TV and computer instead.

To what extent do you agree with this approach?

Books should be abandoned completely in the learning process and replaced with computers and other media as children are finding it uninteresting. In my perspective, teaching through different media resources, which are better educational tools, is more engaging for students.

First and foremost, the reason for opting multimedia tools over traditional books is that it provides better and updated knowledge. Children these days need something, which stimulates their interest and keeps them engaged in their studies and computers are at their par in making young ones learn effectively by visualizing the concepts instead of reading books. For example, electronic search mechanisms can help pupils to locate information easily and instantly that would be hard to locate while reading a book. Thus, the use of technology is better than the books.

Another pertinent cause of following this practice is that use of computers and Tv’s in the classroom would ensure that students, around the globe are receiving same education as in most of the remote areas, where lack of a good teacher is a problem, this could prove to be useful and students of those places too can shine and compete with city students; as a result there would be no difference in the levels and understanding of concepts amongst students, which is not possible by teaching them through books.

In conclusion, as far as piquing the interest of today's students, familiarizing them with multimedia gadgets in schools definitely provides an edge over the printed books and with this, hope of having the same education can also be there.