Schools in some countries require their students to wear a uniform. What are the positives and negatives of this rule?

Uniforms have been an integral part of many organizations and institutes since time immemorial. In different countries, it is compulsory for children to be in proper uniform dresses while attending school. There are a number of merits and shortcomings of this rule.

First and foremost, it demonstrates a key part of discipline in children’s life. It helps them to understand the meaning of punctuality. Subsequently, it becomes their habit to present themselves in more professional ways in the course of their career. On a further note, some students are unable to afford new branded dresses due to the low-income stream of their parents. Therefore, uniforms help students to avoid a sense of poverty and they do not feel underprivileged. In third worlds African and South Asian countries like Congo or India, for instance, the gap between rich and poor is too high. Most children are part of common schools in the region and uniforms in the schools help to avoid a sense of depriving among the poor and middle-class students.

Conversely, underprivileged students are reluctant to attend schools in many countries like Somalia, Ethiopia, and Afghanistan. People are poor enough to afford uniforms for their children. That is why many parents find it a hurdle to send their children to schools. Moreover, it has some psychological effects on students’ mindsets. They feel that learning is just confined to school till that time when they are in school uniform. Consequently, they are less likely to study at home due to this impression.

The conclusion to be drawn is that it is paramount to have uniforms at school to make the children disciplined in their early life as it would help them in their professional life as well. However, it causes a problem for children who wish to attend school as it is out of their parents’ affordability in many poor countries and students’ learning also get affected by this rule as they feel less motivated to study at home after changing the uniform.