Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Medical science is improving at a higher rate in recent times. Advancement in science and technology expands the lifespan of people up to 100 or 200 years. A few people consider this as a good sign for the future of human beings while some other people argue this would be against to nature. This essay will argue both views.

People could be benefited in different ways if they could live up to 100 years or more. For example, they could spend time with the next two or three generations and pass their experience and moral values to them. It would help younger generations to learn a lot about family values as well as life experience. In addition to that, people get enough time to reach their goals and get some time to spend with their families. The cumulative knowledge and experience of the people would help in a positive way to develop the nation as there will be huge manpower available.

On the other hand, some drawbacks can be identified in the idea of expanding the life expectancy of people. If lifespan is expanded the number of old people would be increased in the future and they have to be provided with good medical care. The rate of spreading disease would increase and it could create a need for medical advancement further. All these will lead to a need of huge amount of money to spend on science and medical research and development. Furthermore, it would increase the unemployment rate among younger generations as youngsters would not get the chance to get the jobs since older people are still there.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the idea of extending the human life expectancy up to 100 years or more as it would increase the unemployment rate among youngsters and spread disease among people. All of these lead to unnecessary increase in the cost of the country which could be spent in the country’s development.